Subscribe to SLJ
Follow This Blog: RSS feed
Adult Books 4 Teens
Inside Adult Books 4 Teens

Weekly Reviews: Great Spring Fiction

The Kings and Queens of Roam

Today we highlight three very different spring novels that all hinge on a crucial element of teen appeal — forging one’s own identity. Daniel Wallace is best known as the author of Big Fish. The Kings and Queens of Roam combines folklore and light fantasy elements with family drama, in particular that of two sisters […]

Graphic Novel Review: You’re All Just Jealous of My Jetpack

You're all just jealous of my jetpack

from graphic novel guest blogger, Francisca Goldsmith: What’s So Funny about Parody? Artful parody, as the American journal The Onion shows readers again and again, makes us laugh for a couple of reasons: often, the parody presents a situation that is farcical on its face, and it also tickles our brains with the surprise of […]

Best of the Year so far, 2013

The Death of Bees

Summertime…and the livin’ is easy… Speaking to all you school librarians out there — is there anything better than the first weeks of summer vacation? When time suddenly opens up, sleep is a possibility, and opportunities to read seem to be everywhere? Many teens feel the same way. Here’s hoping some of them find these […]

Weekly Reviews: Debut novels

The Silver Star

Can I really call Jeannette Walls’ The Silver Star a debut novel? After all, everyone knows The Glass Castle. And Half-Broke Horses was a novel, wasn’t it? Well, yes, but it was a fictionalization of her grandmother’s life. The Silver Star is Walls’ first work of pure fiction. It touches on many of the same themes […]

Weekly Reviews: Boarding Schools & Sports

The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for GIrls

Today we review two notable debut novels featuring teen protagonists who are talented at the sports they love — riding and rowing. There are a surprising number of similarities between these books. Both take place in elite boarding schools, and feature teens who are new kids among long-time classmates, less wealthy outsiders struggling for the […]

Nonfiction Graphic Novels – A Continuing Discussion

feynman

Back in January, we had a conversation (in reference to Derf Backderf’s Alex Award-winning My Friend Dahmer) about what makes a graphic novel “nonfiction” and the rigidity of categories like “fiction” and “nonfiction.” A couple of new comments have been added to that thread, so please head over to the above link to read the whole chain, but […]

Weekly Reviews: Science & Knots

Letters to a Young Scientist

In both of today’s nonfiction titles, the authors speak directly to their readers. Both have the potential to become favorites with the right teen reader.  First up, Edward O. Wilson’s passionate and inspiring Letters to a Young Scientist. Maybe it’s the time of year, but I can’t help thinking that this would make a terrific graduation […]

Weekly Reviews: Mid-year Graphic Novels

red handed

Today we have three very different graphic novels.  Matt Kindt’s Red Handed, a gorgeous, full-color novel with an intricately structured plot has been the source of a bit of debate.  Kimberly over on Stacked.com, while granting the novel’s interest, found its experimental structure ultimately frustrating.  And when I gave the book to one of my […]

More on the Law of Superheroes

For fans of James Daily and Ryan Davidson’s The Law of Superheroes (which we reviewed here), or for anyone who is interested in the idea but doesn’t want to invest in reading the whole book, Daily and Davidson have been guest-blogging on the very influential legal blog, The Volokh Conspiracy. They’ve been addressing such pressing […]

Weekly Reviews: Self-Publishing Phenomenons

The Sea of Tranquility

It is my great pleasure to write about The Sea of Tranquility today. I can’t remember the last time I enjoyed a book quite so much. I read it at the same time as a few other books because I wanted it to last. Each time I checked something while writing the review I got caught […]