Search on SLJ.com ....
Subscribe to SLJ
Follow This Blog: RSS feed
Adult Books 4 Teens
Inside Adult Books 4 Teens

Burn

burn

And so it ends. We reviewed Julianna Baggott’s Pure exactly two years ago. Later in the year, we named it one of our favorite books of the year so far, and were then validated when it won a 2013 Alex Award. A year after Pure, we felt just as strongly about its sequel, Fuse. Now [...]

Weekly Reviews: Monster Thrillers

Red Moon

Benjamin Percy’s Red Moon is a political thriller as much as werewolf horror novel, in the same way that World War Z is about military strategy. Red Moon reflects the current state of our world, in particular terrorism, persecuted minorities, and the importance of energy sources in today’s political decision-making. In fact, Justin Cronin (author of The [...]

Weekly Reviews: Magic

What the Family Needed

Today’s three reviewed novels share elements of the supernatural and magical realism. What teenager doesn’t wish for a superpower, if only to imagine themselves less under the control of the adults in their lives? In a series of connected vignettes, What the Family Needed introduces seven members of one family who grapple with special abilities. [...]

Weekly Reviews: Sequels

Fuse

Trilogies. How many of us shudder at the thought? How many of us miss those great standalone novels? A whole story arc in one book – imagine! On the other hand, many readers enjoy knowing that there is more to come. In a student bookgroup meeting last week, as we discussed what to read next, [...]

Unholy Night

Unholy Night

Seth Grahame-Smith first made a mash-up splash with Pride and Prejudice and Zombies in 2009, and followed it with Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Slayer the following year. The movie version of the latter is set for release next month (check out the trailer). Grahame-Smith has been busy with screenplays lately, responsible for both his own novel [...]

These Days Are Ours

These Days are Ours

There aren’t a lot of great realistic novels out there for the older young adult set. Those 18-23 year-olds, what are they reading that is really about them? Michelle Haimoff‘s debut paperback original is an absorbing, well-written novel about a newly independent adult in New York City in the months after 9/11. It goes beyond bar-hopping [...]

Pure

Pure

Pure is the first in a new dystopian trilogy that seems made for teen readers; film rights have already been sold. Julianna Baggott has written a few books for young readers, but is best known for adult literary fiction and poetry. I had a chance to hear her speak at ALA Midwinter in January. She has [...]

Little Girl Gone

Little Girl Gone

Drusilla Campbell writes fiction around contemporary issues, including post partum depression (The Good Sister), surviving the loss of a child (Blood Orange) and losing a family member to a drunk driver (The Edge of the Sky). Although teen characters appear in these novels, Campbell’s latest has full-blown appeal for teen readers, echoing stories of abduction [...]

The Girl in the Garden

The Girl in the Garden

Kamala Nair’s first novel was inspired by a trip to the tiny village in India where her father grew up. Nair describes her novel as a dark fairy tale, combined with a coming-of-age. Perfect choice for a teen summer read. NAIR, Kamala. The Girl in the Garden: A Novel. 305p. Grand Central. 2011. Tr $24.99. [...]

Hell’s Horizon

Hell's Horizon

Today, a review of the middle book in Darren Shan’s The City Trilogy. Perhaps less successful than the first, this is still a must-read for fans of Procession of the Dead. SHAN, Darren. Hell’s Horizon. Bk 2. 336p. (The City Trilogy). Grand Central. 2011. Tr $19.99. ISBN 978-0-446-55173-1. LC number unavailable.   Adult/High School–The companion [...]