Follow This Blog: RSS feed
A Fuse #8 Production
Inside A Fuse #8 Production

Press Release Fun: Ezra Jack Keats Award Submissions Needed


Look me in the eye when I’m talking to you.  I kid. You can look wherever you like. But you may want to know a little something about this.  Heck, you new picture book authors and illustrators might also want in:

Ezra Jack Keats New Writer and New Illustrator Awards

Attention Publishers:

The New York Public Library and the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation

invite you to submit entries for

The Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Award
and The Ezra Jack Keats New Illustrator Award

Guidelines and criteria for both the New Writer and the New Illustrator Awards are posted on this website.

The deadline for submission is December 15, 2009.

To apply send one copy of each book to each of the ten jury members and to Julia Chang and John Peters at NYPL, and to Deborah Pope, Executive Director, EJK Foundation.

For the jury members’ addresses and for more information, please contact Julia Chang, at 212-340-0950 or

The EJK awards recognize new talent in the children’s book world. We hope that you will continue to enthusiastically support both of these awards.

Information for Publishers: New Illustrator Award Submissions

Information for Publishers: New Writer Award Submissions

Ezra Jack Keats Award Press Releases

Presented jointly by The New York Public Library and the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation, the Ezra Jack Keats New Writer and New Illustrator Awards are given annually to an outstanding new writer and illustrator of picture books for children.

The Award Committee seeks out books that portray the goals and values of Ezra Jack Keats as expressed in his multicultural books including: the universal qualities of childhood, a strong belief in family and community, and creativity and love of learning. Author of many classic books for children, including the Caldecott-winning book, The Snowy Day, Keats determined that his foundation would be dedicated to fostering the talent of the generations of children, artists, and authors who would follow him.

Find all the Keats Award Winners in our Catalog
Printable poster with list of Award Winners
(8 1/2 x 11)

The Ezra Jack Keats Foundation

The Ezra Jack Keats Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation that was established in 1964. When Keats died in 1983, his will directed that the royalties from his books be given to the Foundation to be used for the support of programs judged to be helpful to humanity. The Foundation has been dedicated to maintaining the goals and values of Keats, as expressed in his multicultural work, by focusing on bettering the lives of children through programs to increase literacy, to inspire creativity and love of learning, and to enhance appreciation of the arts in children, their families and communities: a total arts-in-education approach. For more about the foundation, visit

About Elizabeth Bird

Elizabeth Bird is currently the Collection Development Manager of the Evanston Public Library system and a former Materials Specialist for New York Public Library. She has served on Newbery, written for Horn Book, and has done other lovely little things that she'd love to tell you about but that she's sure you'd find more interesting to hear of in person. Her opinions are her own and do not reflect those of EPL, SLJ, or any of the other acronyms you might be able to name. Follow her on Twitter: @fuseeight.