Follow This Blog: RSS feed
A Fuse #8 Production
Inside A Fuse #8 Production

The ALA Media Award Announcements 2010

I received a request on this blog requesting that I record and make available the ALA Media Awards of 2010 for one and all to see.  Sure, they’re shown live online, but sometimes it’s fun to feel like you’re in the room.  So while this is shaky and foggy and all kinds of imperfect, this is a pretty close approximation of what you can expect at your typical award year.  The video was too keep in one piece (hence the fact that I’m posting it at 8:00 at night and not 1:00 in the morning) so they are split in two here.

Here are the times for this first video:

0:00 – 1:47  Thom Barthelmess, President of ALSC, speaks.
1:48 -3:32   Camila Alire, President of ALA, speaks.
3:33 – 7:00   The Schneider Family Book Award announcements.
7:01 – 7:33   Some stuff about press releases.
7:34 – 14:17   Deborah Taylor, Chair of the Coretta Scott King Book Award Committee announces the winners of the Coretta Scott King Book Awards and the John Steptoe New Talent Award.
14:18 – 25:37   Linda W. Braun, President of YALSA, announces the Margaret A. Edwards Award winner, the William C. Morris Award winner, the YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award winner, and the Printz Award winners.
25:37 – 28:07   The Odyssey Award winners.

ALA Media Awards 2010 – Part One from Elizabeth Bird on Vimeo.

And here’s Part Two.  I apologize, but some portions had to be slimmed down for the sake of space.  The Spanish translations are now missing, as is the Artbuthnot Honor Lecture Award, and some of the times when committee members were being thanked.

0:00 – 3:42  Loida Garcia Febo, President of Reforma, presents the Pura Belpre Awards.
3:43 – 5:40  The Mildred L. Batchelder Awards
5:41 – 8:00  Robert F. Sibert Medal winners
8:01 – 10:09   The Theodore Seuss Geisel Award winners
10:10 – 12:15  The Caldecott Medal and Honors
12:16 – 14:36  The Newbery Medal and Honors

ALA Media Awards 2010 (Part Two) from Elizabeth Bird on Vimeo.

About Elizabeth Bird

Elizabeth Bird is currently the Collection Development Manager of the Evanston Public Library system and a former Materials Specialist for New York Public Library. She has served on Newbery, written for Horn Book, and has done other lovely little things that she'd love to tell you about but that she's sure you'd find more interesting to hear of in person. Her opinions are her own and do not reflect those of EPL, SLJ, or any of the other acronyms you might be able to name. Follow her on Twitter: @fuseeight.


  1. Betsy, I am off sculpt your likness, for when you are inducted into the Librarian hall of fame. Thank you so much.

  2. Elizabeth Dingmann says:

    Betsy, thank you so much for posting this. I was wishing I could have been there in person to celebrate with Vaunda, so being able to see her showered with hugs in your video just gave me chills. (Although I guess it’s a good thing there was someone in the office in Minneapolis to handle all the bustle that comes after such an exciting announcement!)

  3. Deep breath of relief. Thanks so much, I hope I didn’t hamper your sleeping schedule too much. Go take a nap now.

    31 minutes til you will be broadcast in living color in Kaysville, UT.

  4. Sorry for the last minute-ness of it all. All the worse when I tell you that I actually thought that today was Tuesday. Seriously. *sigh*

  5. Whoosh, Just finished it worked great all around, cheering insued as their winner, won. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  6. Thanks so much for this. I work with Vaun (in the same library system, that is) in New Mexico, and I shared the link with everyone in our department. She’s been our hero for so long; it’s great to see her writing get this kind of recognition. Shameless plug: her other new book, Who Will I Be, Lord? illus. by Sean Qualls, was on the Zolotow “highly commended” shortlist. Yay!