Follow This Blog: RSS feed
A Fuse #8 Production
Inside A Fuse #8 Production

Press Release Fun: The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

More candidates than ever for the world’s largest prize for children’s and young adult literature
Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award – Mar 17, 2011 08:15 CET

– To be awarded the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is such a tremendous experience, says the Belgian illustrator Kitty Crowther, the 2010 recipient. On March 29th the recipient or recipients of the world’s largest prize for children’s and young adult literature 2011 will be announced.

The nomination list for the 2011 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is the longest ever and is made up of 175 candidates from 62 countries. Previous recipients are eligible to nominate candidates, and in the nomination process this year three previous recipients have proposed candidates; Banco del Libro (recipients of 2007), Katherine Paterson (2006) and Kitty Crowther (2010).

It has been a turbulent year for Kitty Crowther. Receiving the award led to her books being published in new editions all around the world. She has received numerous invitations to public events, and a lot of attention from international media.

– An amazing thing about the award is that when it comes to literary festivals and book fairs everyone knows who you are. I don’t have to do anything! People want to meet me anyway. Everywhere I meet people who are passionate about children’s literature.

The recipient of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award 2011 will be announced on March 29th at 13:00 CET.

– There are so many worthy winners, Kitty Crowther says. I hope for a recipient who loves life, a true humanitarian like Astrid Lindgren was.

The announcement will be broadcast live from Vimmerby to the International Children’s Book Fair in Bologna and can also be followed live on For further details and interviews please contact or +46 765 40 10 17.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) is the world’s largest prize for children’s and young adult literature. The award, which amounts to SEK 5 million, is awarded annually to a single recipient or to several. Authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and those active in reading promotion may be rewarded. The award is designed to promote interest in children’s and young adult literature, and in children’s rights, globally. An expert jury selects the winners from candidates nominated by institutions and organisations worldwide. The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is administered by the Swedish Arts Council.

About Elizabeth Bird

Elizabeth Bird is currently the Collection Development Manager of the Evanston Public Library system and a former Materials Specialist for New York Public Library. She has served on Newbery, written for Horn Book, and has done other lovely little things that she'd love to tell you about but that she's sure you'd find more interesting to hear of in person. Her opinions are her own and do not reflect those of EPL, SLJ, or any of the other acronyms you might be able to name. Follow her on Twitter: @fuseeight.


  1. […] Read complete article at Schoollibraryjournal Cats: Africa, Development, Education, South Africa Tags: Africa, Development, Education, Ethiopia, Nelson Mandela Foundation,, Schools for Africa, South Africa, The Hamburg Society, UNICEF Quick URL […]