Search on SLJ.com ....
Subscribe to SLJ
Follow This Blog: RSS feed
Good Comics For Kids
Inside Good Comics For Kids

Spotlight: Adventures of Rabbit and Bear Paws

Scott Robins

book1 Spotlight: Adventures of Rabbit and Bear PawsOne children’s graphic novel series getting some great attention in Canada from kids, librarians and educators is The Adventures of Rabbit and Bear Paws by Chad Solomon and Christopher Meyer. This independently published series has just earned an Ontario Library Association’s Silver Birch Award nomination in the Express category for books at a Grade 3-4 reading level. Shortlists for this award are selected by a committee but the winner is voted on by actual kids participating in the program. It’s very rare to find a book not published by one of the larger publishers on these lists.

In the tradition of Asterix and Obelix, Rabbit and Bbook2 Spotlight: Adventures of Rabbit and Bear Pawsear Paws is a buddy comedy set in 18th Century colonized North America and follows two mischievous Ojibwa brothers who play pranks that often lead them to great adventures. The boys use traditional Ojibwa medicine that transforms them into various animals for short periods of time.

Each book explores one of the traditional Seven Grandfather Teachings of the Anishinabek (eg. bravery, love, honesty, etc.) without being too preachy or heavy-handed. Young readers will enjoy the slapstick humor and playful antics of the two main characters and teachers will appreciate the historical curriculum ties. This series is truly a hidden gem for librarians looking for books with that elusive Native North American content and ties in perfectly with this month, recognized as National American Indian Month.

book3 Spotlight: Adventures of Rabbit and Bear Pawsbook4 Spotlight: Adventures of Rabbit and Bear Paws
I had the special opportunity to speak with the two main characters of this series, Rabbit and Bear Paws, as well as their friend Strawberry.

For more on the Adventures of Rabbit and Bear Paws visit www.rabbitandbearpaws.com.

share save 171 16 Spotlight: Adventures of Rabbit and Bear Paws
Scott Robins About Scott Robins

Scott Robins is a librarian at the Toronto Public Library and the co-author of A Parent's Guide to the Best Kids' Comics. He is the children's programming director for the annual Toronto Comic Arts Festival. He has also served on the graphic novel selection committee for the Canadian Children's Book Centre's Best Books for Kids and Teens and is a jury member of the Joe Shuster Awards in the "Comics for Kids" category.

Speak Your Mind

*