Subscribe to SLJ
Follow This Blog: RSS feed
Good Comics For Kids
Inside Good Comics For Kids

Links: Best of the Year, Read-Alikes, and Coming Attractions

compass-south

2016 was a tough year in a lot of ways, but it was a great year for graphic novels. Check out our list of the top ten graphic novels of the year, which includes plenty of good old-fashioned adventure stories and one very serious and important graphic novel, March: Book Three. There’s lots of good reading there, and some great gift ideas as well.

Michael Cavna, who covers comics and graphic novels for the Washington Post, has also published his best-of-the-year list, which includes graphic novels for all ages, from kids to adults.

steven-universeBOOM! Studios has announced a new Steven Universe comic, to be written by Melanie Gillman (the creator of the webcomic As the Crow Flies) and illustrated by Katy Farina. The series will launch in February.

Jessica Abel discusses her new comic, Trish Trash: Rollergirl on Mars, at Comic Book Resources.

Here’s a treat for Faith Erin Hicks fans—and Attack on Titan fans: 13th Dimension posts Hicks’s entire story from The Attack on Titan Anthology, a collection of short stories set in the world of the manga.

At No Flying, No Tights, Kristen Lawson offers ten read-alike titles for readers who loved Amulet and are looking for more, and Nic Wilcox has some suggestions for Pokemon fans.

Previews

Love: The Dinosaur
Mickey’s Craziest Adventures

Reviews

L. Maxwell on Fantasy Sports (Guys Lit Wire)
Jennifer Wharton on vol. 1 and vols. 2-5 of He’s My Only Vampire (No Flying, No Tights)
Cindy Dobrez and Lynn Rutan on King Baby (Bookends)
Emilia Packard on Kitaro: The Birth of Kitaro (No Flying, No Tights)
Julie P. on Little Babymouse and the Christmas Cupcakes (Booking Mama)
Booknutgirls on Razzle Dazzle Unicorn (Booknut)
Megan Rupe on Sea Change (No Flying, No Tights)
Elizabeth Bird on Snow White (A Fuse #8 Production)
Cindy Dobrez and Lynn Rutan on Snow White and The Singing Bones (Bookends)

Share
Brigid Alverson About Brigid Alverson

Brigid Alverson, the editor of the Good Comics for Kids blog, has been reading comics since she was 4. She has an MFA in printmaking and has worked as a book editor and a newspaper reporter; now she is assistant to the mayor of Melrose, Massachusetts. In addition to editing GC4K, she writes about comics and graphic novels at MangaBlog, SLJTeen, Publishers Weekly Comics World, Comic Book Resources, MTV Geek, and Good E-Reader.com. Brigid is married to a physicist and has two daughters in college, which is why she writes so much. She was a judge for the 2012 Eisner Awards.

Speak Your Mind

*