Follow This Blog: RSS feed
Good Comics For Kids
Inside Good Comics For Kids

This Week’s Comics: Witch’s Malloween

Highlights from this week’s list of new releases includes a new god befriending the girls of Roanoke cabin in BOOM! Studios’ Lumberjanes #66. Holiday House gives some classical Greek myths a 21st century sensibility in I am Hermes Mischief-Making Messenger of the Gods, while Lion Forge releases the 2nd volume of Rise of the Zelphire: The Prince of Blood.

The List:

ALADDIN BOOKS
Okay Witch GN, $12.99 **Weekly Pick**

AMP! COMICS FOR KIDS
Wallace The Brave Volume 2 Snug Harbor Stories GN, $9.99

ARCHIE COMIC PUBLICATIONS
B & V Friends Jumbo Comics Digest #274, $7.99

BOOM! STUDIOS
Lumberjanes #66 (Cover A Kat Leyh), $3.99
Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #43 (Cover A Jamal Campbell), $3.99

DARK HORSE COMICS
Disney A Christmas Carol Starring Scrooge McDuck TP, $10.99
Disney Frozen The Hero Within #3 (Of 3), $3.99

DC COMICS
Looney Tunes #251, $2.99
Scooby-Doo 50th Anniversary Giant #1, $4.99
Scooby-Doo Team-Up #50, $2.99
Secret Spiral Of Swamp Kid TP (DC Zoom), $9.99

FANTAGRAPHICS BOOKS
Life Of A Coat Illustrated Prose HC, $12.99
Tale Of Two Cats Illustrated Prose HC, $12.99

GOLDEN APPLE BOOKS
Blastosaurus Malloween Special #1, $3.99 **Weekly Pick**

HOLIDAY HOUSE
I Am Hermes Mischief-Making Messenger Of The Gods HC, $18.99

IDW PUBLISHING
Care Bears Unlock The Magic #2 (Of 3)(Cover A Agnes Garbowska), $3.99
Disney Comics And Stories Volume 1 Friends Forever TP, $14.99
Rise Of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Sound Off #3 (Of 3)(Cover A Chad Thomas), $3.99
Star Wars Adventures #26 (Cover A Derek Charm), $3.99

KEENSPOT ENTERTAINMENT
Junior High Horrors #7 (Cover A Eric Kent Pet Semetary Parody Variant), $4.99

LION FORGE
Ballad Of YaYa Volume 3 The Circus GN, $9.99
Rise Of The Zelphire Volume 2 The Prince Of Blood HC, $14.99

MARVEL COMICS
Marvel Rising Heroes Of The Round Table TP, $12.99
Marvel’s Spider-Man Velocity #2 (Of 5)(Cover A Skan), $3.99
Moon Girl And Devil Dinosaur #47, $3.99

VAULT COMICS
Sera And The Royal Stars #3, $3.99

The Picks:

Okay Witch GN – Aladdin Books introduces a half-witch who is more than okay. Thirteen-year-old Moth Hush loves all things witchy but has never really fit into her home town of Founder’s Bluff, Massachusetts. When some eighth-grade bullies try to ruin her Halloween, she finds out why: She is descended from a line of witches who were once persecuted by the town and escaped to a spirit realm. After meeting and befriending a talking cat, Moth falls into an enchanted diary and unlocks the way into that realm. Soon, secrets surface from generations past as she unravels the complicated legacy at the heart of her town, her family, and herself. Fans of Sabrina the Teenage Witch and Roller Girl will enjoy this coming-of-age story.

Blastosaurus Malloween Special #1 – Golden Apple Books’ dinosaur detective is ready for some ghost hunting in his newest investigation. Freak Out City Mall is shutting down because the ghost of teen sitcom actress Eliza Beth Barclay, who died in 1994 while filming, has come back to haunt it. Customers are scared to shop there. I mean, who would try on underwear when there could be a ghost watching? But why did Eliza Beth wait 25 years to start haunting the place? And who is the mysterious shoe salesman lurking around? Blasto and the kids take the case to find the answers and save the mall, while trying to score some discounted Halloween candy along the way. Get a jump start on the Halloween season with this special issue.

Share
Lori Henderson About Lori Henderson

Lori Henderson is a mother of two teenage daughters and an avid reader. She blogs about manga at her personal blog Manga Xanadu as well as contributing and editing for Manga Village. She blogs about all things fandom (mainly Doctor Who) at her other personal blog Fangirl Xanadu. She's been at it so for over 5 years now and counting!

Speak Your Mind

*