Follow This Blog: RSS feed
Good Comics For Kids
Inside Good Comics For Kids

This Week’s Comics: Friendship Challenges

Highlights from this week’s list of new comics, manga, and graphic novel releases include, a new Ben 10 graphic novel from BOOM! Studios. Marvel Comics releases a new Spider Gwen trade, Amazing Powers, while Viz Media continues their Pokemon Adventure Collector Editions with volume 3.

The List:

ARCHIE COMIC PUBLICATIONS
Archie And Friends Endless Summer #1, $2.99
Archie 1000-Page Comics Spark TP, $14.99
Betty And Veronica Jumbo Comics Digest #285, $7.99
World Of Archie Jumbo Comics Digest #101, $7.99

ATHENEUM BOOKS FOR YOUNG READERS
Beetle And The Hollowbones GN, $12.99 **Weekly Pick**

BOOM! STUDIOS
Ben 10 Volume 5 The Creature From Serenity Shore GN, $7.99
Lumberjanes Volume 15 TP, $14.99

DARK HORSE COMICS
Avatar The Last Airbender The Promise Omnibus TP, $24.99
Disney Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas The Story Of The Movie In Comics HC, $10.99

DC COMICS
Lois Lane And The Friendship Challenge TP, $9.99 **Weekly Pick**

IDW PUBLISHING
My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #89 (Cover A Andy Price), $4.99
Sonic The Hedgehog Volume 1 Consecuencias TP (Sonic The Hedgehog Volume 1 Fallout Spanish Edition), $15.99

JY
Zo Zo Zombie Volume 8 GN, $12.00

KEENSPOT ENTERTAINMENT
Junior High Horrors April Fool’s Special #1 (Cover A Eric Kent GS X-Men Parody Variant), $5.99

MARVEL COMICS
Spider-Gwen Amazing Powers TP, $12.99
Spider-Ham Aporkalypse Now TP, $15.99

PAPERCUTZ
Loud House Volume 9 Ultimate Hangout GN, $7.99

VIZ MEDIA
Pokemon Adventure Collector’s Edition Volume 3 TP, $17.99

The Picks:

Beetle And The Hollowbones GN – Atheneum Books for Young Readers debuts a story about goblins, witches, and ghosts. Beetle is a twelve-year-old goblin living in the eerie town of ‘Allows. She is being homeschooled by her grandmother on how to be a witch, including learning to ride a broom. But Beetle would rather hang out with her best friend Blob Ghost, who is cursed to haunt the local mall. The return of Beetle’s old best friend, the beautiful, cool, great at magic and kind of famous online Kat, has her being left in the dust. Now, with Kat’s sorcerer mentor setting a vile scheme in motion, Beetle has less than a week to rescue her best ghost, encourage Kat to stand up for herself, and confront the magic she’s been avoiding for far too long. This graphic novel is perfect for fans of Adventure Time and Steven Universe.

Lois Lane And The Friendship Challenge TP – DC Comics introduces readers to a 13-year-old Lois Lane navigating the world of social media and friendship. It’s summer break, and Lois Lane has got a video channel that only gets two views a week and a best friend, Kristen, who isn’t as enthusiastic about social media. To increase views, Lois sees the big neighborhood picnic and bike race as the perfect backdrop for her and Kristen’s #friendshipchallenge video. But with the annual fireworks missing, and Kristen spending more time with the new girl on the block, Lois begins testing her friendship in ways she couldn’t imagine for internet fame. Will she get her #friendshipchallenge video posted or will she have to face her challenges IRL? Middle school readers will enjoy this new story by Lumberjanes co-creator Grace Ellis and Goldie Vance artist Brittney Williams.

Share
Lori Henderson About Lori Henderson

Lori Henderson is a mother of two teenage daughters and an avid reader. She blogs about manga at her personal blog Manga Xanadu as well as contributing and editing for Manga Village. She blogs about all things fandom (mainly Doctor Who) at her other personal blog Fangirl Xanadu. She's been at it so for over 5 years now and counting!

Speak Your Mind

*