Follow This Blog: RSS feed
Heavy Medal: A Mock Newbery Blog
Inside Heavy Medal

Signing off

Thanks so much for continuing to add your thoughts on this year’s winners to yesterday’s post, and your ideas for next year to the 2016 Newbery Watchlist post.

I want to add to my thoughts to yesterday to say that while ethnic diversity was only one facet of the statement this year’s awards make…they make it, and it has been a theme of this conference.   I’d like to make sure everyone knows about the Children’s Book Council’s Diversity Committee, and the work it is doing with ALSC to try to move some meaningful action.  For some of the conference chatter on this, search for tweets with #alamw15 #diversitymatters  .  This is just scratching the surface, so I’m looking forward to finding out where we are in September, when we return after Labor Day.

(Going to ALA Annual? If you want to hear Jacqueline Woodson give a speech for BROWN GIRL DREAMING, you’ll need to come to the CSK breakfast. I’m buying tickets now.)

Nina Lindsay About Nina Lindsay

Nina Lindsay is the Children's Services Coordinator at the Oakland Public Library, CA. She chaired the 2008 Newbery Committee, and served on the 2004 and 1998 committees. You can reach her at


  1. Thanks again for all your hard work on this blog, Nina and Jonathan! It was great to see you at the Awards!

  2. Sam Bloom says:

    Nina, THANK YOU for your work in moving the ALSC committee meetings on Sunday mornings. Now everyone can (and should!) grab a ticket to the CSK breakfast. Seriously, that is huge, huge, huge, and I’m really thrilled that there is no longer a time conflict for so many people.

    Also, thanks everyone for your insightful discussion this year; I was especially intrigued by the talk on all of the nonfiction! 😉

  3. Thanks for another fascinating HEAVY MEDAL year!

  4. See you all at the CSK breakfast. Thanks Nina and Jonathan. Wish I could have participated more thoughtfully and quantitatively, but…

    In addition to Jackie, we will have Christopher and Kekla and Kwame and Marilyn Nelson and Frank Morrison and Christian Robinson and Jason Reynolds. AND Deb Taylor will be honored! And there is still more…

Speak Your Mind