Search on SLJ.com ....
Subscribe to SLJ
Follow This Blog: RSS feed
Neverending Search
Inside Neverending Search

Join SIGMS for Copyright Clarity tomorrow night!

fairusemuscles Join SIGMS for Copyright Clarity tomorrow night!

Tomorrow night, ISTE’s SIGMS presents a free webinar featuring my good friend Kristen Hokanson and Spiro Bolos.   If you are a librarian and you are not up to speed on issues relating to fair use, this is a must-attend event.

Fuzzy Copyright Join SIGMS for Copyright Clarity tomorrow night!

The details (reprinted from Brenda Anderson’s announcement):

When: Monday, March 14, 2011 at 8pm ET 7pm CT, 6pm MT, 5pm PT

Learn Central Page: http://www.learncentral.org/event/142405/Copyright+Clarity

How to Connect: https://sas.elluminate.com/d.jnlp?sid=lcevents&password=Webinar_Guest

Description: While copyright & fair use can be confusing to navigate you CAN use copyrighted material in your creative work! This introduction to the Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Media Literacy Education will explain fair use, reduce copyright confusion and share helpful ideas regarding how to teach your students and staff about copyright & fair use.

Information about the Presenters:
Kristin Hokanson is a technology integrator and classroom teacher at Upper Merion High School outside Philadelphia, PA. As Affiliated Faculty with Media Education Lab at Temple University and Regional Director of Pennsylvania Association for Educational Communications and Technology Kristin strives to help teachers to develop a greater understanding of media literacy and digital responsibility in an increasingly digital society.

Spiro Bolos is a 16-year veteran of the classroom, having taught a wide range of courses in Social Studies at New Trier High School. He holds a Master’s Degree in History from the University of Illinois. Currently, he also serves as a Technology Staff Developer for both multimedia applications and content-specific curricular technology integration. Related to his work with copyright and fair use, he is a member of the Affiliated Faculty of the Media Education Lab at Temple University.
He has presented at multiple conferences at the state and national level, and was named one of the Top 25 presenters at the CUE Conference in Palm Springs. In addition, he recently became a Google Certified Teacher (GCT) in which he was one of 50 educators selected to attend a workshop at Google’s headquarters. Seewww.spirobolos.com for more information.

Slide Set:

Resources:
http://copyrightconfusion.wikispaces.com

share save 171 16 Join SIGMS for Copyright Clarity tomorrow night!
Joyce Valenza About Joyce Valenza

Joyce is the teacher-librarian at Springfield Township High School, a technology writer, and a blogger. Follow her on Twitter: @joycevalenza

Speak Your Mind

*