Subscribe to SLJ
Follow This Blog: RSS feed
Someday My Printz Will Come
Inside Someday My Printz Will Come

What To Read Next: 2017 Award Edition

2 number 0 TSL LOTTO number 1 Bingo Number 7

The season is done, the award has been given, we’ve all gasped and mourned (only two honors!) and celebrated, and finally it’s time to look forward to the 2017 YMAs.

A final thank you to the RealCommittee, whose hard work has given us three excellent choices to talk about and discuss for years to come. And now it’s a new year and there’s a new RealCommittee stepping up and it’s time for us to start reading 2016 books. All this and it’s only January 15th, whoo-hoo!

So let’s have at it: what are you reading/looking forward to/burning to talk about? Comments are open and will stay open, so even though we’re going dark officially*, the fun doesn’t really stop.

XOXO,
Gossip Girl
Karyn, Joy, and Sarah

*We reserve the right to pop up at any point to talk about anything, and especially to update you all with what’s on our radar. But mostly we’ll be dark.

(Image thanks to Spell with Flickr)

Share

Comments

  1. The only Printz-able book I’ve read so far this year is Meg Medina’s BURN BABY BURN. Title pun and all, I’d say I’m “burning to talk about it”! It’s got a lot going on, and I really enjoyed it.

    I’m also really excited to get my hands on Alison Goodman’s new book, THE DARK DAYS CLUB, because she’s a long-time favourite of mine.

  2. I’m looking forward to Francisco Stork’s The Memory of Light. Marcelo in the Real World is one of my favorites!

  3. I need Jen J.’s help with starred reviews. I always start there for the books getting the most Love at any given moment. Are there any books for 2016 (2017 award year) which have lots of starred reviews already?

    Glad to hear that Francisco Stork will have a new book. I appreciate how ethical his books are.

    Thanks for your hard work on this blog, Karin, Joy, and Sarah.

    “Talk” to ya’ in September.

  4. Well I haven’t had a chance to input January journals yet. Hoping to get caught up on at least some of them this weekend, but as of December here’s what’s getting some starred review love:

    4 stars:
    Pax by Sara Pennypacker is almost certainly too young, but reviews do put it up to 12 or 13 which technically touches the Printz range. You could probably skip this though unless you’re a strong completist or interested in the Newbery race.
    We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson – an early contender that I’ve been hearing good buzz about.

    3 stars:
    The Bitter Side of Sweet by Tara Sullivan
    The Memory of Light by Francisco X. Stork
    My Name is Not Friday by Jon Walter
    Samurai Rising by Pamela S. Turner (biography)
    Unbecoming by Jenny Downham
    When Mischief Came to Town by Katrina Nannestad – another that’s almost certainly too young. Reviews only take it up to 12, but again, technically that’s Printz range.

    I’m also seeing lots of tweets in praise of The Serpent King, but that’s not out ’til March. When I’ve got all the January stars entered I’ll get another update put together.

    Personally, I’m looking forward to The Dark Days Club and Truthwitch.

  5. Jen, could you post a link to where you keep track of starred books? I want to be ahead on reading them this year:)

  6. Thank you so much! Very helpful. I am ready for the new Jenny Downham book.

  7. Karyn Silverman says:

    I just finished the new Hardinge, The Lie Tree. As brilliant as I thought Cuckoo Song was, it’s nothing next to this one. I’m ready to give it the award now. Can’t wait to talk about it!

  8. The Lie Tree is an excellent book. I hope this will be the year when Hardinge is finally recognized

  9. I’m so ready for the The Lie Tree! It sounds so good, and after Cuckoo Song I’m ready for anything she writes. Plus, the US edition looks beautiful.

  10. Aliya Schwerner says:

    I am looking for fantastically great graphic novels for middle grades/teens in 2017… and suggestions?

  11. So far, We are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson and Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys are my YA favorites.

  12. So here’s a contenders update for the January stars – I’m still working on inputting February stars. Nothing has 5 or 6 stars yet.

    5 titles have 4 stars; 23 titles have 3 stars for twenty-eight titles total. For a full list of these titles you can see my January Stars Update over at https://booksheets.wordpress.com/

    For our purposes here, I’ve made two lists excluding the eleven picture books – the first is the eleven titles that squarely fit the Printz eligibility ages. The second is the six books in that murky Printzbery crossover age that could be contenders depending on the committee and how they feel about younger books which seems to really vary from year to year. I thought divvying things up into two lists will help for those who only work with high school as opposed to that full Printz 12-18 age range and for those with limited reading time who really want to target the most likely options.

    List One:
    The Bitter Side of Sweet by Tara Sullivan – 4 stars
    Character, Driven by David Lubar
    Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston
    The Great American Whatever by Tim Federle
    Half Lost by Sally Green
    The Memory of Light by Francisco X. Stork
    My Name is Not Friday by Jon Walter
    The Steep and Thorny Way by Cat Winters
    Thanks for the Trouble by Tommy Wallach
    Unbecoming by Jenny Downham – 4 stars
    We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson – 4 stars

    List Two:
    The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle by Janet Fox
    Maybe a Fox by Kathi Appelt and Alison McGhee
    Pax by Sara Pennypacker – 4 stars
    Samurai Rising by Pamele S. Turner (Non-Fiction)
    When Mischief Came to Town by Katrina Nannestad
    Wild Robot by Peter Brown

    I don’t think I’ve finished a single 2016 title so I can’t really comment personally on any of the titles yet – hoping to get to something soon now that I’ve caught up on some other reading obligations!

  13. February Update:

    Still no 5 or 6 stars. 9 titles have 4 stars, 39 titles have 3 stars. 2 of the 4 star books are picture books that are too young. 16 of the 3 star titles are too young. Going with two lists again – top tier and long shots.

    List One (16 titles):
    Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit- NEW
    The Bitter Side of Sweet by Tara Sullivan – 4 stars
    Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina – NEW
    Character, Driven by David Lubar
    Delilah Dirk and the King’s Shilling by Tony Cliff – NEW (Graphic Novel)
    Essential Maps for the Lost by Deb Caletti – NEW
    Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston – 4 stars
    The Great American Whatever by Tim Federle
    Half Lost by Sally Green
    The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge – NEW
    The Memory of Light by Francisco X. Stork – 4 stars
    My Name is Not Friday by Jon Walter
    The Steep and Thorny Way by Cat Winters
    Thanks for the Trouble by Tommy Wallach
    Unbecoming by Jenny Downham – 4 stars
    We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson – 4 stars

    List Two (14 titles):
    The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle by Janet Fox
    The Door By the Staircase by Katherine Marsh – NEW
    Free Verse by Sarah Dooley – NEW
    Jazz Day by Roxane Orgil – NEW
    Maybe a Fox by Kathi Appelt and Alison McGhee
    The Most Important Thing by Avi – NEW
    Pax by Sara Pennypacker – 4 stars
    Raymie Nightingale by Kate DiCamillo – NEW
    Samurai Rising by Pamele S. Turner (Non-Fiction)
    The Storyteller by Aaron Starmer – NEW
    We Will Not Be Silent by Russell Freedman – NEW (Non-Fiction)
    Wet Cement by Bob Raczka – NEW (Poetry)
    When Mischief Came to Town by Katrina Nannestad
    Wild Robot by Peter Brown – 4 stars

  14. March Update:

    63 titles with 3 or more stars (5 stars: 2, 4 stars: 20, 3 stars: 41). 7 of the 4 star books are too young, 15 of the 3 star books are too young. That leaves us with 41 books to consider. At some point this list is going to become too unwieldy, but I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it. Probably starting next month I will only list new titles. List one is titles that have been reviewed squarely within the Printz range. List two is titles that cross over into the bottom of the age range as well as non-fiction which has not done well with the committee in the last several years. Happy reading!

    List One (24 titles):
    Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit
    The Bitter Side of Sweet by Tara Sullivan – 4 stars
    Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina – 4 stars
    Character, Driven by David Lubar
    Delilah Dirk and the King’s Shilling by Tony Cliff – (Graphic)
    Draw the Line by Laurent Linn – NEW
    Essential Maps for the Lost by Deb Caletti
    Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston – 4 stars
    Golden Boys by Sonya Hartnett – NEW
    The Great American Whatever by Tim Federle
    Half Lost by Sally Green
    The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge – 4 stars
    The Memory of Light by Francisco X. Stork – 4 stars
    My Name is Not Friday by Jon Walter
    The Mystery of Hollow Places by Rebecca Podos – NEW
    The Nameless City by Faith Erin Hicks (Graphic) – NEW
    The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry – NEW
    The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater- NEW
    The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner – NEW
    The Steep and Thorny Way by Cat Winters
    A Tangle of Gold by Jaclyn Moriarty – NEW
    Thanks for the Trouble by Tommy Wallach
    Unbecoming by Jenny Downham – 4 stars
    We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson – 4 stars

    List Two (17 titles):
    Booked by Kwame Alexander – 4 stars – NEW
    The Charmed Children of Rookskill Castle by Janet Fox
    The Door By the Staircase by Katherine Marsh
    Free Verse by Sarah Dooley
    Hour of the Bees by Lindsay Eagar – NEW
    Jazz Day by Roxane Orgil – 5 stars
    Maybe a Fox by Kathi Appelt and Alison McGhee
    The Most Important Thing by Avi
    Pax by Sara Pennypacker – 4 stars
    Raymie Nightingale by Kate DiCamillo – 5 stars
    Samurai Rising by Pamele S. Turner (Non-Fiction) – 4 stars
    The Storyteller by Aaron Starmer
    We Will Not Be Silent by Russell Freedman – (Non-Fiction) – 4 stars
    Wet Cement by Bob Raczka – (Poetry) – 4 stars
    When Mischief Came to Town by Katrina Nannestad
    Wild Robot by Peter Brown – 4 stars
    Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk – NEW

  15. Hello all! Finally got a chance to sit down and update for April contenders and decided the comments don’t give me much formatting wiggle room, so just posted the contender update over at my blog: https://booksheets.wordpress.com/2016/05/11/april-2016-printz-contender-update/

    TL:DR version: The Lie Tree and The Passion of Dolssa have each accumulated 5 stars now so definitely take a look at them.

    Somehow I missed a star from last December for Salt to the Sea by Sepetys (thanks to Anne at Headfull of Books for catching that!), so that’s been added to the longlist. Other newer titles to look for are Highly Illogical Behavior, On the Edge of Gone, and Rebel of the Sands. The total for the two lists is now at 49 books – hats off to anyone who makes it through all of them!

  16. May Update for what has 3 or more stars and fits the Printz age range is finally up: https://booksheets.wordpress.com/2016/07/01/may-2016-printz-contender-update/

    5 new books to look for: American Girls by Umminger, Ask My How I Got Here by Heppermann, Flannery by Moore, Places No One Knows by Yovanoff, and Steeplejack by Hartley.

  17. July Update for what has 3 or more stars: https://booksheets.wordpress.com/2016/08/25/july-2016-printz-contender-update/

    Titles to watch for from the July list are The Female of the Species, Girl Mans Up and Railhead.

    TItles that came up on the June list (which I neglected to post about) were The Memory Book and The Reader.

    When We Was Fierce also came up with 3 stars in June, but with the publication delayed indefinitely at this point for possible revisions, I think that can be discounted for now.

Speak Your Mind

*