Subscribe to SLJ
The Yarn
Inside The Yarn

‘I just want to delight kids’ – Candace Fleming Visits The Yarn


Travis: During the 2017 NCTE conference Colby talked with Candace Fleming about Ben Franklin’s in My Bathroom, the first book in her new middle grade series. It turns out Colby actually played a part in how the series came to be. We hope you enjoy the episode. Subscribe below to catch every episode. Click here […]

‘We Knew We Had to Lay it All Out There’ – Irene Latham & Charles Waters Discuss CAN I TOUCH YOUR HAIR?

Can I Touch Your Hair

Travis: In early February Irene Latham and Charles Waters visited Michigan for a week of school visits. This was the perfect opportunity to interview them for the show. In this episode, Irene and Charles talk about how they collaborated to create their book Can I Touch Your Hair? Poems of Race, Mistakes, and Friendship (illustrated […]

2018 Youth Media Award Winners on The Yarn


Travis: A bunch of the folks who recently took home awards during the 2018 Youth Media Awards have appeared on the show. If you haven’t listened to these episodes, now might be a good time to get to know these award winners. Jason Reynolds Awards: Newbery Honor, CSK Author Honor, Printz Honor, Odyssey Honor Matthew […]

Chelsea Clinton Reads from She Persisted

Not on The Yarn

Colby: When I head that Chelsea Clinton was reading the audio book for She Persisted, I reached out to Listening Library to see if we could run a clip here on The Yarn blog. Check it out below!   Subscribe below to catch every episode. Click here to subscribe to The Yarn Newsletter

How Andrew Clements Came Up With Frindle


Colby: I had a really nice time at NCTE last fall talking to Andrew Clements about his latest book The Losers Club. We talked about a lot of things, and I left the conversation thinking how nice it would be to sit down with Andrew for coffee each week. He has so many stories, and […]

Everything Is Upside-Down: The 2008 Newbery and Caldecott Medals


Travis: Before we even made the first episode of The Yarn podcast, we’ve wanted to do an episode on the 2008 Newbery and Caldecott medal winners, and unforgettable year that challenged assumptions about what kinds of books could win the most prestigious awards in children’s literature. In today’s episode, Brian Selznick and Laura Amy Schlitz […]

Not on The Yarn: Matt de la Peña and Loren Long

Not on The Yarn

Travis: Matt de la Peña and Loren Long were recently on NPR’s All Things Considered, reading from and talking about their just-released picture book, Love. It isn’t that often that a picture book author and illustrator sit down and talk about the making of a book together, so this was a treat. Click here to listen.

Debut Author Kamilla Benko Talks Unicorns, Editing, and Her Middle Grade Novel

the unicorn quest

COLBY: Debut author Kamilla Benko visted my classroom last fall when she was on a pre-publication tour for her book The Unicorn Quest. My students and I had a blast reading, writing, and creating with her. During lunch, I broke out my audio recorder, and interviewed her for this episode of The Yarn! I hope […]

Our Top 10 Most Popular Episodes of 2017

Top 10

Travis: It’s the last day of 2017, which seems like a good day to share our 10 most popular episodes of the year. Let’s count them down from 10 to 1: 10. Melissa Sweet – SOME WRITER! Unraveled: 9. Angie Thomas – THE HATE U GIVE Unraveled: 8. Margarita Engle – LION ISLAND Unraveled 7. […]

A Conversation with the Ambassador: Gene Luen Yang


Travis: In just a couple weeks, a new National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature will be named. It seems like the perfect time to chat with Gene Luen Yang, the guy who currently holds the title. A few things covered in this conversation: How Gene’s career began with some indirect help from the Teenage Mutant […]