Follow This Blog: RSS feed
Good Comics For Kids
Inside Good Comics For Kids

Grief and Loss in Comics | Roundtable

Sincerely, Harriet

At the end of a difficult year, the Good Comics for Kids team discusses graphic novels that can spark conversations around grief and loss.

Classic Backlist & Readalikes for Kids

In the comic book industry, individual creators—writers, illustrators, inkers, letterers, colorists, and everyone else involved in bringing new, immersive art to life—can become popular celebrities with a single commercial success or major award recognition. Many well-known creators have their own fandoms who will stand in line for hours at signings; overflow large conference rooms at […]

Graphic Medicine for Kids & Teens

The term graphic medicine was coined by Dr. Ian Williams—comics artist, physician, and editor of graphicmedicine.org—to “denote the role that comics can play in the study and delivery of healthcare.”

Historical Fact or Fiction?

With American politics in the throes of a divisive election and a never-ending, unprecedented news cycle, intense focus has been given to every new development for at least fifteen minutes.

You’re Not Alone in Feeling Alone

“Honestly, I think learning loss is the least of our worries. It’s essential to give them space to talk about how they are feeling. If things are falling apart, we have to take care of them rather than push on with a lesson.” —”In This Together: School Librarians Help Address Learning Loss, Upheaval,” SLJ It’s […]

Ghosts: A Not-So-Scary Roundup

It’s that time of year, when we start thinking about ghosts and goblins and jack-o-lanterns and things that go bump in the night. There are plenty of comics and graphic novels with ghosts in them, but not all are scary. Here are some great reads that happen to have spirits in them. Ghosts by Raina […]

What to Read Next: Scary Story Edition

One of the most popular genre requests in my library has always been for a scary story. This isn’t one of my favorite genres, so I do struggle a bit. But I have learned to keep my eyes out on titles that are… well… scary. With comics, I didn’t often have that request for more […]

2016 Good Comics for Kids Holiday Gift Guide

Black Friday and Cyber Monday have passed, and perhaps you’ve finished most of your holiday shopping, but there’s always the last minute gift or the small “stocking stuffer,” you want to get. So here are our suggestions for the 2016 Holiday Season for the book lover and/or comic fan in your life. Fruits Basket Collectors […]

Summer Reading Picks

Memorial Day has passed. The summer solstice is here. You’ve broken out the grill. The sweltering weather has started (at least here in NYC), and visions of beaches, pools, and vacation are dancing in our heads. Depending on where in the country you live, the kids are either finished school or wrapping it up and […]

The Good Comics for Kids 2015 Gift Guide

Looking for some good graphic novels to give the kids and teens on your nice list? Our bloggers have some suggestions for every age and taste, from board books to manga—and be sure to check out our list of the top ten graphic novels of 2015 at School Library Journal! I’m Sunny! I’m Grumpy! By […]