Follow This Blog: RSS feed
Good Comics For Kids
Inside Good Comics For Kids

The Secrets of Chocolate | Review

The Secrets of Chocolateby Franckie AlarconNBM Publishing, $19.99 Subtitled A Gourmand’s Trip Through a Top Chef’s Atelier, The Secrets of Chocolate is a delicious book. The author spent a year back in 2013 working with and observing chocolate chef Jacques Genin’s creations. (The chef clearly establishes early on that he is not a chocolatier, as […]

Constitution Illustrated | Review

A review of Constitution Illustrated, a comic version of the US Constitution, with each page using a different popular comic character.

The Girl From The Sea | Review

Morgan Kwon finds keeping her secret and keeping to her plans get significantly more difficult when a cute selkie comes into her life in Molly Knox Ostertag’s star-crossed love story The Girl From The Sea.

Maker Comics: Build a Robot! | Review

Maker Comics: Build a Robot offers surprisingly simple projects thar are not only fun but also introduce basic principles of engineering.

The Dark Matter of Mona Starr | Review

In The Dark Matter of Mona Starr, Laura Lee Gulledge weaves solid advice into a story about dealing with depression.

Shang-Chi Vol. 1: Brothers & Sisters | Review

Shang-Chi cover

Marvel’s Shang-Chi finally gets the spotlight in a new series by an ideal writer, although the art leaves something to be desired in Shang-Chi By Gene Luen Yang Vol. 1: Brothers & Sisters

Beast Complex Volume 1 | Review

Beast Complex, a collection of side stories set in the world of Beastars, presents a series of vignettes about friendship and danger.

Nubia: Real One | Review

L.L. McKinney and Robyn Smith’s Nubia: Real One finds a young woman with Wonder Woman’s powers living in the real world, which is no fairy tale. Even for an Amazon princess.

Classic Backlist & Readalikes for Kids

In the comic book industry, individual creators—writers, illustrators, inkers, letterers, colorists, and everyone else involved in bringing new, immersive art to life—can become popular celebrities with a single commercial success or major award recognition. Many well-known creators have their own fandoms who will stand in line for hours at signings; overflow large conference rooms at […]

Writer Jim Ottaviani on adapting Edward O. Wilson’s Naturalist | Interview

We speak to Jim Ottaviani on the process of turning Edward O. Wilson’s prose autobiography Naturalist into the comic book Naturalist: A Graphic Adaptation.