Follow This Blog: RSS feed
Good Comics For Kids
Inside Good Comics For Kids

The Girl From The Sea | Review

Morgan Kwon finds keeping her secret and keeping to her plans get significantly more difficult when a cute selkie comes into her life in Molly Knox Ostertag’s star-crossed love story The Girl From The Sea.

Maker Comics: Build a Robot! | Review

Maker Comics: Build a Robot offers surprisingly simple projects thar are not only fun but also introduce basic principles of engineering.

The Dark Matter of Mona Starr | Review

In The Dark Matter of Mona Starr, Laura Lee Gulledge weaves solid advice into a story about dealing with depression.

Shang-Chi Vol. 1: Brothers & Sisters | Review

Marvel’s Shang-Chi finally gets the spotlight in a new series by an ideal writer, although the art leaves something to be desired in Shang-Chi By Gene Luen Yang Vol. 1: Brothers & Sisters

Beast Complex Volume 1 | Review

Beast Complex, a collection of side stories set in the world of Beastars, presents a series of vignettes about friendship and danger.

Nubia: Real One | Review

L.L. McKinney and Robyn Smith’s Nubia: Real One finds a young woman with Wonder Woman’s powers living in the real world, which is no fairy tale. Even for an Amazon princess.

Classic Backlist & Readalikes for Kids

In the comic book industry, individual creators—writers, illustrators, inkers, letterers, colorists, and everyone else involved in bringing new, immersive art to life—can become popular celebrities with a single commercial success or major award recognition. Many well-known creators have their own fandoms who will stand in line for hours at signings; overflow large conference rooms at […]

Writer Jim Ottaviani on adapting Edward O. Wilson’s Naturalist | Interview

We speak to Jim Ottaviani on the process of turning Edward O. Wilson’s prose autobiography Naturalist into the comic book Naturalist: A Graphic Adaptation.

The League of Super Feminists | Review

Mirion Malle seeks to induct young readers into The League of Super Feminists with her short, common-sense primer on what we too often consider complicated topics

Graphic Medicine for Kids & Teens

The term graphic medicine was coined by Dr. Ian Williams—comics artist, physician, and editor of graphicmedicine.org—to “denote the role that comics can play in the study and delivery of healthcare.”