Follow This Blog: RSS feed
Heavy Medal: A Mock Newbery Blog
Inside Heavy Medal

The Heavy Medal Mock Newbery Readers’ Poll is Open

This year on Heavy Medal we will actually have three separate ballots as part of our Mock Newbery process:

The Heavy Medal Award Committee Selection: At the conclusion of our Live Zoom Discussion, which takes place on Friday, January 22nd at 1:00 pm EST / 10:00 am PST, the members of the HMAC will submit weighted ballots to select the official Heavy Medal Mock Newbery winner. They will each rank three books from among the five discussed. The winner and Honor books will be revealed at the end of that broadcast (just before 2:30).

Viewers’ Poll: At the same time that the HMAC is balloting, anyone who signed up for the Live Zoom Discussion can cast a vote for one of the five finalists. Results will be announced at the end of that broadcast. You can sign up for this free event here.

Readers’ Poll: This poll is separate from the Zoom event. Anyone can cast a vote between now and Saturday, January 23 (12:00 pm EST / 9:00 pm PST). This ballot includes all 15 titles on the Heavy Medal Book List, all of which have been discussed at length over the past weeks. Results of the Readers’ Poll will be announced on Sunday, January 24. CAST YOUR READERS’ POLL VOTE HERE.

Then of course there’s the one that really matters. The real Newbery Medal winner will be announced at the end of the ALA Youth Media Awards. The webcast of the YMA event starts on Monday, January 25th at 9:00 am EST / 6:00 am PST.

Steven Engelfried About Steven Engelfried

Steven Engelfried is the Library Services Manager at the Wilsonville Public Library in Oregon. He served on the 2010 Newbery committee, chaired the 2013 Newbery Committee, and also served on the 2002 Caldecott committee. You can reach him at


  1. Molly Karene Sloan says:

    My 5-8th grade students in the Newbery Club at Portland Jewish Academy selected:
    A Wish In The Dark by Christina Soontornvat as our winner
    When Stars Are Scattered by Omar Mohamed and Victoria Jamieson as our honor book
    We will be anxious to see which books will be awarded some bling by ALA on Monday morning!