The Yarn
Inside The Yarn

2018 Youth Media Award Winners on The Yarn


Travis: A bunch of the folks who recently took home awards during the 2018 Youth Media Awards have appeared on the show. If you haven’t listened to these episodes, now might be a good time to get to know these award winners.

Long Way Down

Jason Reynolds

Awards: Newbery Honor, CSK Author Honor, Printz Honor, Odyssey Honor

Wolf in the Snow

Matthew Cordell

Award: Caldecott Medal


Ruth Behar

Award: Pura Belpré Author Award Winner

The Hate U Give

Angie Thomas

Awards: CSK Author Honor, Printz Honor, Odyssey Award, William C. Morris Award

Silent Days Cover

Allen Say

Award: Schneider Family Book Award

About Travis Jonker

Travis Jonker is an elementary school librarian in Michigan. He writes reviews (and the occasional article or two) for School Library Journal and is a member of the 2014 Caldecott committee. You can email Travis at, or follow him on Twitter: @100scopenotes.

Speak Your Mind