Search on SLJ.com ....
Subscribe to SLJ
Follow This Blog: RSS feed
Neverending Search
Inside Neverending Search

It’s not a contest but . . .

tweet Its not a contest but . . .  

I just came across All a Twitter, an article in the July issue of SLJ

It is truly a wonderful introduction to one of my very favorite ways to keep up and one of the easiest ways to build a professional learning network. In fact, I wish I’d written it myself. 

A side bar in the article listed the "10 Most Followed Librarians on Twitter."

Here they are:

  1. Jessamyn West (jessamyn) 1,200
  2. Connie Crosby (conniecrosby) 1,188
  3. Andrea Mercado (andreamercado) 698
  4. K.G. Schneider (kgs) 606
  5. David Lee King (davidleeking) 548
  6. Amy Kearns (akearns) 463
  7. Michael Stephens (mstephens7) 429
  8. Michael Sauers (msauers) 396
  9. Blake Carver (LISNews) 374
  10. Beth Gallaway (infogdss29) 321

Just one little bitty issue.

I may be wrong, but as much as I admire (and follow) most of these very talented colleagues, I don’t believe any of them are school librarians. 

I know that School Library Journal loves all of its youth services librarian readers, including those thousands of us who work in schools.  

We tweet too.

And so I hope that author Ellyssa Kroski won’t mind it if I add some school librarians to her list highly followed colleagues.  Here are just a few of the school librarians I follow:

Kathy Schrock (kathyschrock) 1069  (She’s a tech coordinator now, but will always be a librarian to me.)
Kim Cofino (mscofino) 812
Joyce Valenza (joycevalenza) 739
Judy O’Connell (heyjudeonline) 625 
Cathy Nelson (cathyjo) 585
Diane Cordell (dmcordell) 402
Margo Jantzi (mjantzi) 389
Carolyn Foote (technolibrary) 299

I know I’ve left folks out.  And I know that for many school librarians, professional learning networks extend to include many colleagues (far too many to mention) in the worlds of education and ed tech.  

Please forgive me for my omissions and please feel free to add to my list in your comments.

share save 171 16 Its not a contest but . . .
Joyce Valenza About Joyce Valenza

Joyce is the teacher-librarian at Springfield Township High School, a technology writer, and a blogger. Follow her on Twitter: @joycevalenza

Comments

  1. Brenda D Anderson says:

    Thanks for the list Joyce. I have been looking for more library media specialists to follow. Please add me brendadanderson and I will be tweeting.

  2. Diane Cordell says:

    I’m happy to be in such distinguished company! Just want to point out that Carolyn Foote would probably have a much larger following if her updates weren’t protected.

    We’re always happy to welcome new librarian Tweets, so come join us. Benefits include links to resources, help when troubleshooting problems, fun & fellowship.

  3. joycevalenza says:

    Right about Carolyn. This short list simply makes the point. So many others wonderful Tweeters are out there. I am hoping that at the SLJ Summit, and in Charlotte, we will see many more TLs benefiting from and contributing to the Twittesphere!

Speak Your Mind

*