Search on SLJ.com ....
Subscribe to SLJ
Follow This Blog: RSS feed
A Chair, A Fireplace & a Tea Cozy
Inside A Chair, A Fireplace & a Tea Cozy

Sometimes, I Read Grown Up Books

And, also, sometimes I read grown up book blogs.

Last week, my state had an Adult Services Forum, No Turning Back: Moving Forward In the Digital Age. I was on a panel Reading Bytes: Online Resources for Readers’ Advisory along with Yvonne Selander, Readers’ Services Librarian, Bridgewater Library, NJ; Joanne Cronin, Readers’ Services Librarian, Morris County Library, NJ; Brenda Muhlbaier, Circulation Manager (and RA coordinator), Gloucester County Library – Mullica Hill Branch, NJ; and Roz Reisner, Great Group Reads Coordinator, National Reading Group Month (Roz blogs about the panel at her blog, A Reader’s Place).

You can download the handout we put together, if you want.

Each of us brought something different to the panel; the online websites, blogs, and databases we use. My part of the presentation was mainly about blogs. Here are the blogs from my list: 

Beth Fish Reads www.bethfishreads.com Freelance editor & reviewer; an eclectic reader who reviews many types of books. Other blogs that feature a mix of reviews include Jenn’s Bookshelves  www.jennsbookshelves.com, She Is Too Fond of Books www.sheistoofondofbooks.com, Sophisticated , www.sophisticateddorkiness.com (including nonfiction), Write Meg writemeg.com

Book Club Girl www.bookclubgirl.com Books, news and tips for bookclubs.

The Book Smugglers thebooksmugglers.com Two bloggers (one US, one UK) review & discuss speculative fiction and YA.  

Booking Mama www.bookingmama.net Book blog whose focus is book reviews & information for book clubs.

Bonjour, Cass! bonjourcass.com Reader whose focus is queer non-fiction/gender studies/LGBTQ fiction.

Boston Bibliophile www.bostonbibliophile.com Librarian, NBCC member, reviews current and backlist literary fiction, narrative nonfiction and books of Jewish interest.

Color Online coloronline.blogspot.com Focusing on books for all ages by women writers of color.

Dear Author dearauthor.com Romance book reviews and discussions of ebooks and digital technology related to ebooks.

INSPYS inspys.com Award for excellence in faith-driven literature (Christian based). The bloggers behind this (at inspys.com/?page_id=129) offer a good starting place for RA for those looking for faith-driven books, including works by secular publishers.

The Millions www.themillions.com An online magazine offering coverage on books, arts, and culture since 2003.

A Novel Challenge novelchallenges.blogspot.com Challenges – Usually set up over an extended period of time which encourages participants to read a certain number of books or type of book; can be for a set period of time (with a beginning and ending) or may be perpetual (with no time limit).

Reading Group Choices www.readinggroupchoices.com News about reading groups, book festivals, libraries reading groups.

S. Krishna’s Books www.skrishnasbooks.com Freelance writer, editor, and book reviewer. Reviews include South Asian Fiction, or books by South Asian authors.

Smart Bitches, Trashy Books www.smartbitchestrashybooks.com Smart women writing about romance books & industry news

White Readers Meet Black Authors welcomewhitefolks.blogspot.com By Carleen Brice, author of Orange Mint and Honey. The blog title explains it all!

Your Next Read www.yournextread.com Based on the books you look at, this will recommend other books you may like by creating “your map” of books.

share save 171 16 Sometimes, I Read Grown Up Books
About Elizabeth Burns

Looking for a place to talk about young adult books? Pull up a chair, have a cup of tea, and let's chat. I am a New Jersey librarian. My opinions do not reflect those of my employer, SLJ, YALSA, or anyone else. On Twitter I'm @LizB; my email is lizzy.burns@gmail.com.

Speak Your Mind

*